Question 1216


1216

In the summer of ’93, our local parish announced that they were to open the first kindergarten in our town. I can only imagine excited mothers rushing off to enroll their children immediately after hearing the news, whereas my mothers, by whom I mean my grandmother and my aunt, were as much in the dark as I was. Apparently, we were the last ones to find out what the entire hullabaloo was about.

Nonetheless, my aunt managed to enroll me on the first day of school. I was introduced to a Sister Annie and a Teacher Marissa. Oh, they were the nicest and prettiest ladies I’d ever seen. Shortly afterwards I was introduced to my so-called classmates. My very first real classmates. I never felt intimidated nor out of place when I first met them. I instantly felt a sense of belonging. I mean, most of them were MY kind – the rowdy, chip-toothed, mucus-eating kind. These people were not so much hard to please. I wasn’t put under such pressure. In fact, meeting them was like the beginning of my life. A new and exciting life.

I cannot recall how many we were in the class, but there were a few kids who were definitely noteworthy:

Jonard. He was such a crybaby. Cried at the slightest thing. For example, I would make mean faces at him and he would sob as if the world has ended. Heck, I even would make face at someone else and if he saw it, he would still burst into tears.

Ladynhel. The class princess who was all about Barbie dolls and cute ribbons and butterflies and all the other girly stuff. She indeed was called Ladynhel for a reason.

Raymond. He was an expert in cursing. My mentor. Once we were both given a detention for teaching the other kids some swear words. Teacher Marissa was greatly disappointed and so enraged that she also made us eat chilies in front of the class. As expected, Jonard cried.

Rosemarie. She stole my crayons.

Rustan. The invisible kid. I only came to know about him only on our graduation day. He was the valedictorian.

Mark Alvin. The first boy to have ever told me he liked me. The feeling ain’t mutual.

Kristine Mae. The tomboy. She and I were tight. I can’t even remember why.

Lastly, there was…

Ronaldo. My Ronaldo. My beloved Ronaldo. Shy, but definitely the prettiest boy there ever was. My first kiss, too. It was customary for the parents or guardians  to throw a fancy, if not huge, birthday party for their kids. Aside from cakes and gifts, the party also consisted  of special numbers, candy shower, and kisses bestowed on the birthday celebrator. On my birthday, Teacher Marissa made my classmates queue up for the kiss. And Ronaldo was the first in line, to Mark Alvin’s dismay.

(Jeez. Writing about these kids makes me feel quite nostalgic now.)

My kindergarten days flew by, incredibly quickly. We eventually had to leave. But before we did, we sang a song that has never left my mind since.  The song, as I have  later  learned, was from the 1979 movie, Voices.

You can swim like a fish if you want to
Swim if you’re brave enough to try
And the whales will be amazed when they see you in the deepest ocean drifting by.

You can run like a stream if you want to
Run down the river to the sea
And the ocean will be full of envy when she sees you running out to me.

You can grow like a tree if you want to
Grow if you’re not afraid to fall
And all the other trees will be jealous when they see you standing straight and tall

You can fly like bird if you want to
Fly like a bird if you dare
And all the other birds will admire when they see you dancing in mid air.

Such is the elegance of this song that it will always remind me of the truth: that there is no harm in being brave, no harm in trying, no harm in dreaming. That I can fly like a bird if I really want to. And I want to.

16 Comments

  1. March 9, 2014 at 1:40 PM

    Your recall of your kindergarten palls is hilarious! And pretty inspirational too. => Remembering a song from our childhood days is a special way to reflect on life too.

    • Addie said,

      March 9, 2014 at 7:14 PM

      Hi, Kay. Thanks for reading. My kindergarten pals were the best. Almost wished we remained kids forever. Too bad they had to put up with the mini meanie me. :) Happen to have any song that reminds you of your childhood?

      • March 9, 2014 at 7:56 PM

        It’s the Twinkler song entitled A Little Love..I have to look that up. I miss the song. I always sing that to my little ones now.

    • Addie said,

      March 12, 2014 at 11:33 AM

      Not sure if I’ve heard the song before. Twinkler? Does the song start with “Greatness as you, smallness as me”?

      • March 12, 2014 at 8:40 PM

        It starts with, “a little love that slowly grows and grows, not one that comes and goes, that’s all I ask of you.”

  2. Ben Naga said,

    March 9, 2014 at 5:39 PM

    A beautiful post, Addie. Worth waiting for. What song?

    • Addie said,

      March 9, 2014 at 7:26 PM

      Hi, Ben. Been ages. I just had to write something, else I might forget this blog still exists. The title of my childhood song is Children’s Song. Or at least that’s what Youtube says. I always knew it as the You Can Swim Like A Fish song.

      I’m assuming the YT vid you posted is your childhood song. I had not heard of it until today. It’s really nice. I’m interested in teaching at a Sunday school for kids and I think Jesus Bids Us Shine would make a perfect song for the class.

      • Ben Naga said,

        March 9, 2014 at 7:34 PM

        That’s right. My reply to “What song?” Sunday school is where I learned it. Hoping to see more from you from now on, but no pressure, right. :)

  3. March 10, 2014 at 7:58 AM

    Lovely memories. Good to see you back Addie :)

    • Addie said,

      March 12, 2014 at 11:28 AM

      Thank you, dear Ken. Lovely memories are always a good start.

  4. marz said,

    March 13, 2014 at 10:21 PM

    Miss you Addie!

  5. Silva Gang said,

    March 21, 2014 at 1:35 PM

    Missed you Addie! Great post! So funny! I don’t remember much from Kindergarten, but I do vaguely recall getting in trouble for kicking another kid’s lunchbox into the mud. Hey, that’s what happens when you cut in front of me in line, people! ;) I also remember playing the game operation at break time. I loved that game so much! Ah, the good ol’ days!

    • Addie said,

      March 25, 2014 at 4:21 AM

      Kicking another kid’s lunchbox into the mud? You’re a doll! :D

      And I missed you, too!

      • Silva Gang said,

        March 27, 2014 at 3:53 AM

        Yeah, I guess you can say I wasn’t what they refer to as “the class sweetheart” ha ha! ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

