Question 1246


1246

I could write more about this but I choose not to. His Instagram post, however,  should throw some light on the question.

this

(This is my coolmate. She’s been supporting me with all that’s important to me: family, church, school, work, and my band. Thank you for being there, coolmate.)

I used to think giving someone a material gift was the BEST way to show your love to them (yep, me and my shallow thinking, errbody), but then again who was I kidding? Gift-giving is not my strong suit.

Your turn to answer, my friends. :)

18 Comments

  1. andy1076 said,

    March 16, 2014 at 1:56 AM

    Time spent and memories, that’s my opinion of best way :)

    • Addie said,

      March 16, 2014 at 2:07 AM

      TRUE.

      At times, though, I hear people (myself included) say “I’m too busy. I don’t have time.” This then reminds me of Scott Berkun’s Mindfire. He wrote, “What people really mean when they say ‘I don’t have time’ is that this particular thing is not important enough to earn their time. It’s a polite way to tell people they’re not worthy.”

      • andy1076 said,

        March 16, 2014 at 3:04 AM

        mmmm now I wonder what’s behind that, But when people don’t feel the ‘time’ to listen to your thoughts would they be worth keeping around? if that makes sense? :)

      • Scott Berkun said,

        March 17, 2014 at 12:09 AM

        What I meant was we all have the same amount of time to have while we’re alive. If I don’t have time to talk to you it really means I haven’t prioritized you high enough to spend some of my time on you instead of someone else.
        http://scottberkun.com/2010/the-cult-of-busy/
        Thanks for mentioning me Addie.

  2. Ben Naga said,

    March 16, 2014 at 3:04 AM

    I simply do my best to embody my love for them in my words and actions. Sometimes they get it, other times not. That probably has as much to do with them as it has to do with me. If their response disappoints me then it wasn’t actually love.

    • Addie said,

      March 25, 2014 at 4:16 AM

      It can get really disappointing if they don’t respond as expected…I end up beating myself up over it. :(

  3. March 16, 2014 at 4:09 PM

    Hmm..good question and one I struggle with. I guess the best way I can manage – and my favourite – is to be there to support, listen and encourage. It’s not much but…

    • Addie said,

      March 25, 2014 at 4:05 AM

      I wouldn’t ask for anything more. You’re exactly the kind of man I imagined you would be, Ken. :)

  4. WillieSun said,

    March 17, 2014 at 12:16 AM

    Personally, I like to give baked goods as I’m not very good at giving material presents (and receiving them).

  5. Silva Gang said,

    March 21, 2014 at 1:28 PM

    Showing someone how much you love them is obviously the best way… but who can resist getting ridiculously ecstatic over diamonds?! ;)

    • Addie said,

      March 25, 2014 at 3:58 AM

      Or a new pair of stilletos and/or a Mulberry bag, maybe? :P

      • Silva Gang said,

        March 27, 2014 at 3:53 AM

        Exactly. Or a weekend vacation. Or chocolate fondue. Or a nice massage. My gosh, this list could go on and on! ;)

  6. Dapsy said,

    March 22, 2014 at 12:22 PM

    I give time. Like regular small talks, I listen even to the most ridiculous ideas in the world, followed by awkward laughs. Next would be gift giving. ^_^

  7. Jeff said,

    March 24, 2014 at 9:11 AM

    I do something unexpected around the house. My wife likes when I do things for her. That is more meaningful than material gifts.

    The most important thing for me, though, is never speaking anything negative about her. Ever. I never say anything negative about my wife to anyone (well, not in the way of criticism, I mean).

    • Addie said,

      March 25, 2014 at 4:02 AM

      That’s very sweet of you, Jeff. To all the guys out there: take note!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

