Question 670


Click here to get to the photo source.

There is no substitute for the gasp of excitement he made as I was sliding his birthday cake out of the box. Careful, careful – I could hear him uttering under his breath, his hands ready to grab the cake just in case I would get assailed by my own clumsiness and crash it onto the floor.

But no. I was not going to let that happen. I knew better than that. His last birthday cake was for his seventh birthday. He hadn’t had any more since, or so I was told. So, no. I’m not ruinin’ it – that was his childhood right there!

Careful, careful. You bet I was. I managed to take the cake out of its box safely and in one piece. “Happy birthday!” I chirped.

Birthday cake

He first goggled at this beauty – I love how his eyes sparkled here – for a good minute before looking me in the eye and mouthing a thank you…so much.

6 Comments

  1. cupitonians said,

    March 26, 2014 at 2:52 PM

    This really moved me. AB is a lucky guy.

    • Addie said,

      March 27, 2014 at 10:14 AM

      Thanks, Anju.

      I don’t usually think that way about him. I am more caught up in the fact that having him in my life is a blessing. But I try to make little efforts such as this to show him how grateful I am for his love and friendship. :)

  2. March 26, 2014 at 6:53 PM

    Awww…that is really very sweet Addie :)

  3. Dilip said,

    April 2, 2014 at 12:52 AM

    That’s being thoughtful! Best wishes :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 605 other followers

