Question 989


989

“Did we just get pre-engaged last Sunday,” I asked him via text.

It was one very late night and I was pretty sure he was already crashed out, so I prayed that the message tone wouldn’t stir him up. It was meant to be read at a later time.

I had added a “haha” to connote that the question was not a pressing one. I had also used the term “pre-engaged” because, that night, I did feel kind of engaged…and kind of not. He did not really pop the question. There was no kneeling down on one knee with an amazing diamond ring, either. Just one Sunday night sitting side by side at a musical event and then him uttering something about us getting married. Such proposition didn’t come from nowhere, of course. A few hours earlier, we had snuck out of the venue to get something to eat. He was starving. We headed to 7-11 and munched our way through a cup of noodles and Pringles. Then he said:

“My parents wanted us to get married already.”

“Oh yeah?”

I might have had a self-satisfied smirk on my face with that response but he sort of discounted it and just went on by saying how his mom had been talking to him about her plan to retire from work just so she could help us raise our (first) child, the plans to do this and that, plans, plans, plans, and some more plans.

“I love your parents for thinking that much about us,” I said slowly. “But are we ready?” Rhetorical question.

And that’s when it happened. Sunday night. Post 7-11. He and I had already been sitting side by side for a few good hours waiting for his band to take the stage when all of a sudden he came to life.

“Okay, let’s get married when you’re this age and I’m that age “.

A pause.

Squealing could have been the most reasonable way of responding to lines like let’s get married, but I just swallowed, brought my eyes up to meet his steady gaze, and composed myself.

“Okay.”

(Related Post: Question 1129)

14 Comments

  1. cessology said,

    April 23, 2014 at 4:06 AM

    What did he say? Did you just get “pre-engaged”? :)

    • Addie said,

      April 23, 2014 at 4:13 AM

      Haha. How dare myself exclude a follow-up to that! Yes, he sort of confirmed it. :P

      • WillieSun said,

        May 5, 2014 at 12:55 AM

        Awesome! But *are* you ready? And happy about this?

  2. Ben Naga said,

    April 23, 2014 at 6:20 AM

    Most important possibility? A major shift in consciousness before we destroy ourselves.

    • Addie said,

      April 24, 2014 at 6:31 PM

      Oh, but isn’t it easier to resist moving into the unknown? :P

      • Ben Naga said,

        April 24, 2014 at 6:58 PM

        I answered your question. The most important possibility right now is global rather than personal. Does it make a different kind of sense to you now?

      • Addie said,

        April 24, 2014 at 11:11 PM

        It does now. Apologies for the mix-up. My eyes are tired.

      • Ben Naga said,

        April 25, 2014 at 1:56 AM

        I should comment with more clarity. :oops:

  3. April 26, 2014 at 5:30 AM

    Hmmm….this one will be interesting to see the follow up! ;)

    • Addie said,

      April 26, 2014 at 10:48 AM

      I will surely write about it when I’m this age and he’s that age. Haha.

  4. cupitonians said,

    May 12, 2014 at 3:10 PM

    YAY YAY YAY! This is good news!

  5. zezil said,

    July 13, 2014 at 10:31 PM

    *squeal!* *squeal!* :D

  6. August 4, 2014 at 2:27 PM

    Yaaay, when is the wedding?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 607 other followers

